OMG Tech trials and tribulations

We have been off-line for the weekend, waiting for a new router to arrive. I was seduced by the offer of higher speed broadband and a broader spectrum of free calls,plus a wider area of wifi (better signal at the restaurant)for only about 3 € a month more. Oh why oh why do I do it. That old maxim, ‘if it aint broke, dont fix it’ should be plastered on my wall like graffiti. It’s just about working now, but I cant get ANY signal at the restaurant now. Coincidentally the printer has been playing up as well, I think it’s wifi function has frazzled, so yesterday I hooked it up to the new computer by usb, it worked fine, but this morning when I came to turn on the computer..horror…..black screen of death with just a white flashing cursor. Arghhh!! My beautiful new computer!! Ironically, the keyboard connects with the computer by bluetooth, but couldn’t connect in that state, so couldn’t press F12 or F8 to get into safe mode. Jinxed!! I was all prepared to phone Lenovo this afters, when I cruised the net on my netbook for hints and tips – and came across a cure that involved removing a dodgy usb device. I unplugged the printer, rebooted and bingo!!! My beloved Lenovo is back. And a new printer is on the way. I just need to go and lie down in a darkened room, now……

And one last moan before I go….WHY WHY do internet providers always say on their installation instructions ‘for more information or troubleshooting, please visit www.internetproviderswebsite.com’????????? Flippin’ useless.

About chefinheels

We own and run a small restaurant in the Pyrenées, South France. Tiffany is in charge of the food and Dave, her husband, does everything else.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

