Mouth poppin’ pomegranete molasses

I’ve been reading about pomegranate molasses for a while now online and in recipes, much to my frustration as I haven’t been able to find it ANYWHERE –  even on line. Mainly in Asian recipes, and that is really where one of my hearts is. (Yes, I have more than one…well cooking heart, anyway). So, dammit, I decided to make it myself. *sigh* if needs must. So a half litre of juice was obtained from the local health food store (Biocoop to those in the know ;)) and ceremoniously boiled it to within an inch of its’ life. OMG what a revelation: I was watching it like an anxious parent to catch it at just the right syrupiness, but actually that point really depends on what you want to use it for. It’s the taste that is amazing. As it reduces, its’ natural sugars caramelise so you get that lovely caramel backnote but overridingly the main note is acidic. Try it tomorrow- it would go great with a fresh goats cheese for example or equally well with a magret but with something sweet thrown in like sweet potato. It was a quiet night so I sent some down to our diners who were so stimulated by it they came upstairs to have a discussion on it! That’s one of the things I like most about winter is the ability to engage our clients.

20121114-231525.jpg

About chefinheels

We own and run a small restaurant in the Pyrenées, South France. Tiffany is in charge of the food and Dave, her husband, does everything else.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mouth poppin’ pomegranete molasses

  1. Dot Wilcock says:

    Just wish I’d been there to try it Tiffany – molasses and pomegranate together – a match made in heaven. Perhaps I’ll have a go. I always make my caramel in the microwave as I find it absolutely foolproof with a large Pyrex jug and sugar/water mix. No stirring or danger of splashing so perhaps it could work for the reduction/caramelization of the juice – I’ll try. xx

  2. chefinheels says:

    There’s no sugar, Dot, as it is really rich in its’ own natural sugars. It’s just the juice boiled down on its’ own! Handy tip for caramel, thanks! What ratio of sugar to water?

    • Dot Wilcock says:

      For each tablespoon of sugar I add one tablespoon of water and then just set the microwave on full power – no stirring at all and you will soon get used to the time your particular microwave takes. As it starts to go a lovely light brown this is the time to take care. If I use 12 to 12 it can take around 15 minutes but no watching so really trouble free. In the absence of fruit varieties of the summer we have lots of caramel oranges with a fantastic Claudia Roden orange cake I discovered – all very yummy! xx

      • chefinheels says:

        Excellent tip!! I shall try it out very soon. Whenever I’ve made caramel I have to watch it like a hawk or it crystallises. Thanks!!

      • chefinheels says:

        Oh and we’ll def be trying to squeeze a trip to Windsor in in our next trip home- we’ll be wanting to admire all your new furniture and trying out orange cake with caramel…. Xx

      • Dot Wilcock says:

        Always very welcome here in Windsor Tiffany – would love to see you. Dreamt about you both again last night!

Leave a Reply

