Beware the evil green chilli from Morocco 🔥

Well it doesn’t matter how long you’ve been doing a job or how experienced you are. There’s always a chance that you’ll goof and this week boy did I goof! I saw these lovely big green chillies at Metro in Perpignan, and working on the theory that the smaller the chillie, the hotter, so these would be mild, I scooped up a box of them, stuffed all 3kg of them (took me 2 hours!!) with marscapone, pinenuts and lemon to then fry them in tempura batter to serve with a dip of natural yoghurt. So I fried up a batch to test – and both Dave and I looked at each other with not a small amount of shock – these babies were HOT! Not just hot, but like a twit, I didn’t wear any gloves to handle them and as a result I felt quite ill from breathing in the capsaicin,  (I’m guessing that’s what made me feel quite ick), but my HANDS, BURNING – literally, the only thing that would stop the burning was holding my hands in ice. One palm even went bright red and started swelling – I really thought they would explode! Even 2 days later if I touched my eyes they would instantly burn. Quite incredible. I now have a healthy respect for the Moroccan green chillie – which of-course I can’t now serve. I shall have to mince them, I think and use them in my curries! Shame – they look rather nice!

20130222-233125.jpg20130222-233239.jpg

So todays’ lesson, people: ALWAYS wear gloves to handle chillies, no matter how friendly they look, and don’t do 3kg all in one go without a gas mask.

About chefinheels

We own and run a small restaurant in the Pyrenées, South France. Tiffany is in charge of the food and Dave, her husband, does everything else.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

